Executive Management Team

Dr Chris Harris - CEO

Chris joined YASA as CEO in December 2011. He has over 25 years experience of building and leading high technology companies in the UK, US and Europe. He previously held the post of CEO at Light Blue Optics, a spin-out company from the University of Cambridge. Chris has a degree in Physics from the University of Oxford and a PhD from Imperial College.



Dr Tim Woolmer – CTO and Founder

Tim developed the unique YASA motor topology as part of his DPhil at the University of Oxford. Tim now works as the CTO at YASA, with responsibility for the technical development of the YASA motor. Tim completed a general Engineering degree at Oxford University from 2000-2004. 



Andy Court – Chief Operations Officer (COO)

Andy has a wealth of experience in the development and production engineering of electric motors for high volume applications and mass manufacture. He started his career at Bosch and went on to hold senior roles with TRW’s Automotive Division. Andy has a degree in Electrical and Electronics Engineering. 



Rob Knox– CFO

Rob has significant experience gained in senior positions from a range of start-ups to large corporates in Europe and Asia Pacific including L-3 Communications, ARINC (Now Rockwell Collins) and Ultra Electronics. Rob has a degree in business and is a Chartered Accountant (Australia)



Ajay Lukha – Chief Commercial Officer (CCO)

Ajay has a proven background in shaping strategy and initiating early commercial wins for promising technology companies before leading them to sustained commercial success. As well as several executive and consultative roles with early/mid-stage technology companies, he has worked in senior roles for Intel and Kingston Technology. Ajay has a degree in Chemical Engineering.



Dr Simon Hart – Director of Controller Engineering

Simon has over 20 years of experience developing leading edge power control electronics and software. Previously he was the Engineering Manager at Emerson Control Techniques Drives. Simon has a degree and PhD in Electrical and Electronic Engineering.